ALL BLOG POSTS AND COMMENTS COPYRIGHT (C) 2003-2017 VOX DAY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. REPRODUCTION WITHOUT WRITTEN PERMISSION IS EXPRESSLY PROHIBITED.

Friday, January 06, 2017

The return of the trilogy

Just a little clearing the plate as we gear up for some new releases, beginning with the much-anticipated Appendix N: A Literary History of Dungeons & Dragons from Jeffro Johnson. The three Eternal Warriors novels are now available again on Amazon. If you are a New Release subscriber, be sure to check your email. These were my first solo novels, and it tends to show, particularly in the first book. They don't need to be read in order.

Mariel thought she was the guardian angel of an ordinary child -- until the night an army of fallen angels takes an unholy interest in her charge. Overcome by an angel prince of awesome power, Mariel can only watch as a terrible evil descends upon the home of the boy she is guarding, then vanishes with him. 307 pages. $4.99. Available on Kindle Unlimited.

On a fallen planet, evil may be defeated, but it is never vanquished. When the evil archangel Kaym seeks vengeance, he does not aim at those who belong to his divine Enemy, but at the vulnerable souls around them. Two troubled boys are easy prey for Kaym, and as the high school prom approaches, they are willing to serve as his chosen instruments of death. 337 pages. $4.99.

Book Three: The Wrath of Angels
There is war among the Fallen. As the dread daughter of Moloch cuts a broad swath through the demon princes of Europe, the long-conquered Faery kingdom of Albion threatens to rise against its dark master. Treachery and intrigue are the order of the day as evil battles evil, and jackals lurk amidst the shadows to devour the defeated. 346 pages. $4.99.

From the past reviews.

  • As others have noted, the dialogue is the worst part of the book. Considering that this was Mr. Beale's first novel, we immediately discover that he is not a most naturally gifted writer. While it always feels evident that he has made great efforts to craft the dialogue carefully, there are moments where it titters on being banal and cringe-worthy.
  • The story was alright, but the Christian message was not subtle, and ended up being a complete turnoff. American Protestant Evangelical Christians of a certain variety will enjoy this, though. I didn't, and can't recommend it at all.
  • The book has a couple of strengths that make it unique in Christian fiction. First, the author is honest about the power of evil. He does not whitewash, downplay or ignore the temptations of evil and it's potentially consuming power. Beale represents evil as the willful choice and temptation that it is, and in doing so incorporates it's tragic consequences effectively into the story, without diminishing the power of God's grace and redemption.
The World in Shadow
  • Not only an amazing sequel to the first story, but dives right into the logical consequences in 'real life' of the universe the author described in the opening book. This second book, I must say, was even more enjoyable and immediately identifiable than the first. I literally could not put the book down once I got into the story line a few dozen pages into the book.
  • I have been most impressed by Mr. Beale as an author. His development from his first novel to his second is phenomenal. What strikes me most is his dead-on ability to catch the dialogue and culture of his characters. There are few writers who come close to his ability at this. More than that, he is writing not only page-turning stuff, but page-turning stuff with a brain.
  • This book was better than the first, without a single doubt. It brought the spiritual war to Earth, where it indeed is being fought daily.
The Wrath of Angels
  • This is the third, and in my opinion, the best, story of the War in Heaven trilogy, though this book departs considerably from the other two. While the first two are very noticeably 'young adult' in their writing style, this one approaches a regular novel, albeit it is rather unusual in terms of its content. All are written in the vein of C. S. Lewis's Space Trilogy and Milton's Paradise Lost, taking the perspective of a 'fallen world' very literally.
  • This, the third book in the Eternal Warriors Series, shows a significant jump both in Mr. Beale's story-writing abilities and the complexity of the Eternal Warriors setting. One experiences the world of this third book as significantly more expansive, alive, and realistic than the world in the first book. Likewise, the internal worlds of these characters also loom larger. 
  • Excellent finale to this excellent trilogy. I felt a little sad when I finished as I wished the characters were around for a fourth book. I especially enjoyed the spiritual dimension - both the good and evil. Fast paced and fun read. The monsters were enticingly freakish.

Labels: ,

11 Comments:

Anonymous 5343 Kinds of Deplorable January 06, 2017 5:18 AM  

Nobody can say you muzzle your detractors, Vox. "Cringe-worthy"? Whew. Now I almost HAVE to read it.

Blogger Zeke OF Confettii January 06, 2017 7:58 AM  

Throw me into that Briar Patch B're Injun.

Anonymous lpdbw January 06, 2017 8:38 AM  

"titters"?

Blogger Mr. B.A.D. January 06, 2017 9:16 AM  

These books are good. I recommend them to youths frequently.

Blogger FALPhil January 06, 2017 10:04 AM  

I am glad to see these made available once again. I enjoyed them immensely when I read them many years ago.

Blogger pdwalker January 06, 2017 10:17 AM  

those are pretty good reviews.

ah hell, i can skip lunch a day or two this week. it's not like i'll starve to death.

Anonymous jamsco January 06, 2017 10:39 AM  

Glad to see it, Vox.

And I can only assume you've finally decided to add my "Chapter 29 1/2" as an appendix in "Wrath".

Blogger Mom January 06, 2017 11:14 AM  

Thank you. Vox. I have been wanting to read these.

Anonymous BBGKB January 06, 2017 11:18 AM  

Nobody can say you muzzle your detractors, Vox. "Cringe-worthy"?

"Beale represents evil"

Anonymous MendoScot January 06, 2017 2:49 PM  

I got them years ago when you put them up for free, but only TWiH was available for purchase in DT. If the others become available...

I don't want to distract you from ASOS, but I'm slavering to know what happens with Diavelina.

Anonymous Ezekiel Cassandros January 07, 2017 12:14 AM  

MendoScot wrote:I don't want to distract you from ASOS, but I'm slavering to know what happens with Diavelina.

You will soon be living through it.

Post a Comment

Rules of the blog
Please do not comment as "Anonymous". Comments by "Anonymous" will be spammed.

<< Home

Newer Posts Older Posts