Tuesday, December 03, 2019

There Will Be War: History's End

Created by the bestselling SF novelist Jerry Pournelle, THERE WILL BE WAR is a landmark science fiction anthology series that combines top-notch military science fiction with factual essays by various generals and military experts on everything from High Frontier and the Strategic Defense Initiative to the aftermath of the Vietnam War. It features some of the greatest military science fiction ever published, such Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game" in Volume I and Joel Rosenberg's "Cincinnatus" in Volume II. Many science fiction greats were featured in the original nine-volume series, which ran from 1982 to 1990, including Robert Heinlein, Arthur C. Clarke, Philip K. Dick, Gordon Dickson, Poul Anderson, John Brunner, Gregory Benford, Robert Silverberg, Harry Turtledove, and Ben Bova.

25 years after the end of the Cold War and the publication of the ninth volume, Dr. Pournelle has revived his classic science fiction series with Castalia House. THERE WILL BE WAR Volume X, History's End, continues the tradition of combining top-notch military science fiction with first-rate real-world analysis by military experts. The Cold War may have ended, but as recent events everywhere from Paris to Syria have demonstrated, war has not.

THERE WILL BE WAR Volume X is edited by Jerry Pournelle and features 18 stories, articles, and poems. Of particular note are "Battle Station" by Ben Bova, "Flashpoint: Titan" by Cheah Kai Wai, "What Price Humanity?" by David VanDyke, and the eerily prescient "The Man Who Wasn't There" by Gregory Benford. Volume X also includes timely essays on "War and Migration" by Martin van Creveld, "The 4GW Counterforce" by William S. Lind and LtCol Gregory A. Thiele, USMC, and "The Deadly Future of Littoral Sea Control" by CDR Phillip E. Pournelle, USN, which was awarded the 2015 Literary Award by the Surface Navy Association for "the best professional article in any publication addressing Surface Navy or surface warfare issues."

The 414-page paperback is now available for $17.99 from Castalia Direct or $19.99 from Amazon.

In other Castalia House news, the new case laminate hardcover edition of John C. Wright's instant classic AWAKE IN THE NIGHT LAND is now available for $24.99 from Castalia Direct or $27.99 from Amazon. This is an epic collection of four of John C. Wright's brilliant forays into the dark fantasy world of William Hope Hodgson's 1912 novel, The Night Land. Part novel, part anthology, the book consists of four related novellas, "Awake in the Night," "The Cry of the Night-Hound," "Silence of the Night," and "The Last of All Suns," which collectively tell the haunting tale of the Last Redoubt of Man and the end of the human race. Widely considered to be the finest tribute to Hodgson ever written, the first novella, "Awake in the Night," was previously published in 2004 in The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-First Annual Collection. John C. Wright has been described by reviewers as one of the most important and audacious authors in science fiction today. In a recent poll of more than 1,000 science fiction readers, he was chosen as the sixth-greatest living science fiction writer.

THE MILO CHRONICLES by Dr. Rachel Fulton Brown are also available for $29.99 from Castalia Direct or $34.99 from Amazon.



Blogger Gregory the Tall December 03, 2019 5:35 AM  

Do you now ship to Europe?

Blogger Daniele Grech Pereira December 03, 2019 6:19 AM  

Just might check out, "There Will Be War X", for the essays alone. Then casually return for the sci-fi stories later. Been a while since I was into anything truly sci-fi, so looking forward to it.

Respect to Professor Brown for putting out a book on MILO's favourite subject, I'm sure it will be a fun read, especially for MILO.

Blogger VD December 03, 2019 6:40 AM  

Castalia Direct is still US-only.

Blogger Bishop December 03, 2019 7:48 AM  

Is There Will be War X being considered for Castalia Deluxe?

Blogger sykes.1 December 03, 2019 8:16 AM  

..."Volume X is edited by Jerry Pournelle..."

I thought Dr. Pournelle died on September 8, 2017, as announced in his blog Chaos Manor. Or is this his son?

Blogger JC December 03, 2019 8:28 AM  

I have the original release of Awake in the Night Land as well as both Moth & Cobwebs books. Castalia book quality has improved considerably since the early days. I'm happy to see some more releases, you're doing wonderful work!

Blogger Manster December 03, 2019 8:48 AM  

Will there be a post here whenever the Social Galactic emails go out?
I asked about getting the correct badge (for Feed the Bear Membership @ UA), and you said emails would go out shortly.

I just want to be sure I don't miss the email. Also, to be on the email list for notifications for streams, do I just email the same email that is on the left side of the site? ?

Thank you.

Blogger VD December 03, 2019 8:50 AM  

I thought Dr. Pournelle died on September 8, 2017, as announced in his blog Chaos Manor.

We published this in ebook before he died. This is the first print edition. The series will continue with me as the editor.

Blogger Manster December 03, 2019 8:52 AM  

This is a perfect post for today. I've recently been making an effort to read more, and have been reading alot of non fiction, mostly theological books. I wanted to read some stuff "for fun", so I did purchase Throne of Bones, but was also curious if there were any non-converged SciFi or mystery authors that you would recommend.

Blogger Curlytop December 03, 2019 10:20 AM  

I want to gift this latest edition of There Will Be War to someone who hasn't read the previous volumes or should I start w Volume 1?


Blogger Rajadog20 December 03, 2019 11:20 AM  

Is this the continuation or "riding the red horse"?

Blogger Rex Leroy King December 03, 2019 11:47 AM  

Curlytop wrote:I want to gift this latest edition of There Will Be War to someone who hasn't read the previous volumes or should I start w Volume 1?

The volumes can mostly be read in any order, but there are a couple of authors who have related stories in several of the volumes. I read them out of order, and it didn't really matter, though.

Blogger pdwalker December 03, 2019 11:52 AM  

i’ve purchased and read the ebook versions of both, and all i can say is that VD is seriously understating the quality of these two books.

full disclosure: i’m biased, because they really are that good

Blogger pdwalker December 03, 2019 11:57 AM  

@curlytop: it wouldn’t hurt your enjoyment to start at volume 1. there are several stories that continue on over the series and reading them in order will have more of an impact than reading them out of order.

that’s my opinion.

Blogger Hammerli 280 December 03, 2019 3:46 PM  

Volume I was a collection of outstanding works. Volume X very much follows in that vein.

Blogger Curlytop December 03, 2019 6:00 PM  

Thank you for the feedback!

Blogger Clint Johnson December 03, 2019 8:51 PM  

I would be willing to pay over $500 for the leather bound collection of the series.

Blogger Ray - SoCal December 03, 2019 8:53 PM  

Great news the series will continue!

Post a Comment

Rules of the blog
Please do not comment as "Anonymous". Comments by "Anonymous" will be spammed.

<< Home

Newer Posts Older Posts