ALL BLOG POSTS AND COMMENTS COPYRIGHT (C) 2003-2019 VOX DAY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. REPRODUCTION WITHOUT WRITTEN PERMISSION IS EXPRESSLY PROHIBITED.

Friday, February 15, 2019

If you like long audiobooks

A Throne of Bones (31 hours 22 minutes) is no longer your only option. William S. Lind's ON WAR is now available in audiobook+ from the Arkhaven store. It is 26 hours and 44 minutes long and retails for $24.99.

On War is a seven-year collection of columns written by the father of 4th Generation War theory while observing the U.S. invasion and subsequent occupation of Iraq. It is an intriguing account of a war in progress, as seen through the eyes of a military theorist able to anticipate events with an almost prophetic degree of accuracy. Throughout the book, 4GW theory is defined, described, and refined as events in Iraq, Afghanistan, and other places demonstrate the theory’s utility in making sense of current events and predicting future ones. The inevitable failure of the New Iraqi Army and the U.S.-installed al-Maliki government is explained years in advance, as is the rise of the Islamic State and other 4th Generation forces presently battling for power in post-occupation Iraq.

Lind also makes an ominous, but compelling case for the gradual spread of 4th Generation chaos and the decline of the state throughout the world, including in the United States of America. Featuring a Foreword by the brilliant Israeli military theorist Martin van Creveld, On War is a fascinating book that is a must-read for every military professional, wargamer, and amateur student of the art of war.

In one of the key passages of the book, Lind writes: “4th Generation war is the greatest change since the Peace of Westphalia, because it marks the end of the state’s monopoly on war. All over the world, state militaries are fighting non-state opponents, and almost always, the state is losing.”

William S. Lind is one of the most significant and influential military theorists on the planet. The author of the Maneuver Warfare Handbook and a founder of 4th Generation War theory, Mr. Lind is known and respected by military personnel around the world.

Labels: ,

10 Comments:

Blogger Sam Spade February 15, 2019 12:48 PM  

I have read some time ago 4th generation warfare handbook and I think is great, very insightful and important due to the amount of this kind of conflict in the world today.

Blogger Balkan Yankee February 15, 2019 12:49 PM  

I have a collection of Lind's Marine Corps Gazette articles on Maneuver Warfare. Classic stuff. Perhaps I should PDF them before too long.

Blogger Daniele Grech Pereira February 15, 2019 12:53 PM  

Hiring the narrator for A Throne of Bones must have felt sadistic. I hope he was paid well. William S. Lind is a legend, this book is automatically on the reading list as of today.

Blogger Capital One Business February 15, 2019 1:03 PM  

I hope to get this collection on the next mon.

Thankingful.
Richard
https://www.capitalonebusiness.org

Blogger sammibandit February 15, 2019 1:29 PM  

This looks great. Thank you so much because I was hoping to get something like this in audio format. I'll be listening to this when doing my domestic chores!

Blogger Raging Papist February 15, 2019 3:33 PM  

Will definitely be checking this out. I loved his lecture in Four Generations of Modern War.

Blogger Mark Stoval February 15, 2019 4:39 PM  

"William S. Lind is one of the most significant and influential military theorists on the planet." -VD

Agreed 110%. And even that strong statement may be an understatement. He is the best there has ever been in my book.

Blogger Mr.MantraMan February 15, 2019 5:28 PM  

Recently reread his "Victoria" and today went back in my Kindle and found "On War" and rereading it, which is a bit of a history lesson.

Blogger Akuma February 15, 2019 7:14 PM  

Thank you for this. I already have the kindle version of this on my backlog of books. Will be happy to purchase this when my Tax Refund deposits. The 4GW Manual Audiobook is great btw too.

Blogger McChuck February 16, 2019 7:20 AM  

The greatest successes in 4th gen war happened in India and here in the USA. The power of the press was used by the weak to overthrow the strong. It only works against a people who have compassion for their enemies. It can't work against a people who don't care what others think about them.

Harden your hearts. CNNYT delenda est.

Post a Comment

Rules of the blog
Please do not comment as "Anonymous". Comments by "Anonymous" will be spammed.

<< Home

Newer Posts Older Posts